a cute little check in

hey, hi, hello.

Friends, I feel terrible for not providing content but I am also simply not reading. I think I’ve built this blog up so much around the act of reading and telling you about how I feel about books that the idea of doing anything else seems out of line, and off brand. half the year has passed and I have yet to hold up on my hopes of posting more regularly and trying out different content. It can’t exactly be called a hiatus because I think that requires some level of prior consistency so let’s just run with the idea that it doesn’t need to be labelled in any way.

We’re going to make this a cute little check in. While everyone is busying themselves with the mid-year freakout tag I’m going to try something in the same vein and just chat about the things I’ve been up to this year.

I’ve started some books and only finished a few, all of which you can find reviews for on the blog. It being a tough reading year has remained true but being kinder towards myself about it is also holding strong. I’ve been keenly watching for new book announcements and anxiously watching as anticipated releases pass me by, but it still brings me small joy to see different cover releases and see everyone chatting about their most favourite reads.

The beginning of the year was a period of shambles for me so I watched a lot of movies (38 between January and March to be exact – thank you kindly Letterboxd for those stats) to keep it all at bay. I rewatched Barbie’s Princess and the Pauper and Big Hero 6 and reminded myself of heartwarming joy. I bullied my family into watching Knives Out (which I had never seen before but fully enjoyed) and Pacific Rim (which I have seen a few times before and enjoy every time) to remind them of my superior tastes in cinema. I also started watching Steven Universe and I think its perfect and silly and breaks me in unsuspecting ways.

I’ve been thinking a lot about The Old Guard and Raybearer and Normal People but I think that’s because I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about friendship and love. Reconnecting with old friends and trying to navigate new ways of communicating with others and also sending out little signals to my online friends who hold space for me even when I’m not around. Letting go of the fear of being perceived and trying to move into a space of just enjoying my time here. I’ve been thinking a lot about time lost and all the times ahead and how I seem to enjoy saying so much without saying anything at all. The pandemic has warped my sense of time and being further than it was before and it’s all been a time trying to find a sense of grounding in it all.

I’ve been listening to a lot of Nicholas Brittel’s work because it’s special to me in ways I can’t explain, and Olivia Rodrigo, and my ‘sad bitches lonely’ playlist in general but in an affirming way not an incredibly sad way.

I’m somehow only 6 months away from completing a degree that I never thought I would finish, and I actually have to tangibly start thinking about the future and where I want to be. Both exciting and terrifying.

I started a puzzle but haven’t continued because I didn’t secure my puzzle mat correctly and it’s slowly been crumbling in my cupboard. I’ve been too scared to unravel it and assess the damage.

That’s about it. If you’ve gotten this far, thank you, I appreciate your time. Let me know about any cute happenings from your year in the comments should you feel inclined. Hopefully next time I will have more bookish content. In the meantime I hope you’re doing things that bring you joy, no matter how small, and that the rest of the year treats you gently.

with love and care,

tee xx

2 thoughts on “a cute little check in

  1. I relate so hard to feeling almost… boxed in by the expectation of content, especially staying on “brand” with books. One thing I’ve learned over the last couple of years is the majority of people follow my blog because of me – that’s the “brand” they are here for. I encourage you to branch out and do what you want – this is your space!

    Like

    1. Embarrassed by how late this response is, but thank you so much. I hadn’t thought about this as ‘me’ rather than ‘my love of books’ but you’re absolutely right!

      Like

Leave a comment